• If this is your first visit, you will have to register before you can post. To view messages, please scroll below and select the forum that you would like to visits. Questions? Be sure to check out the Forum FAQ.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Odd Exit prompts

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Odd Exit prompts

    One of the strangest aspects of NT is the exit routine... I see one after another of "save workspace" prompts of workspaces that I haven't used in weeks... confusing as heck... all I want to see is this "Do you want to save {active} workspace?" which is the one that I opened this session... that's it.. I have no idea if by answering "yes" to some workspace that I DIDN'T open is going to be overwritten or what. Please change in NT 7.0. I've never seen anything like this in any other s/w.

    #2
    Hello Saroj,

    Thank you for your note.

    Please click File > Workspaces. In this menu, select a workspace you are not using, then click File > Workspaces > Close Workspace.

    Any workspaces listed in the File > Workspaces menu are 'active' regardless of whether or not their being displayed.
    KyleNinjaTrader Customer Service

    Comment


      #3
      Even more confused now

      Kyle... are you implying that ALL workspaces are "open" all the time? To me, a workspace is the entirety of the user interface that I am seeing on my monitors.. so I have a "Basic" workspace which has mini charts of the instruments that I monitor and for which I want data recorded... then for opening up NT w/o having to wait 10 minutes, I have a "workspace" with ONLY the control center... so when THE LATTER workspace is "open", the initial "Basic" workspace is not... this is the "standard" concept of a workspace... how could multiple workspaces be "open" or "active" at the same time?

      So given all that, why, upon exiting, am I asked which I want "saved"? and what exactly is being saved (esp when I haven't opened a particular workspace for weeks)? and how do the 3 or 4 get into that list that shows up when I click File - Workspaces?

      BTW, not ALL of them are prompted... I've got 9 workspaces but only get prompts for a few of them... I've been a s/w designer my entire career so I'm not totally off the wall... but aparently NT designers have a different concept of what a workspace is... what is it?

      While we're on the subject.. how do I designate a particular workspace as the "default"... been looking all over for where to set this... don't see it.

      Saroj


      Originally posted by NinjaTrader_Kyle View Post
      Hello Saroj,

      Thank you for your note.

      Please click File > Workspaces. In this menu, select a workspace you are not using, then click File > Workspaces > Close Workspace.

      Any workspaces listed in the File > Workspaces menu are 'active' regardless of whether or not their being displayed.

      Comment


        #4
        Hello Saroj,

        1.) No, I'm saying that all workspaces listed under File > Workspaces are open and active, regardless of if they are being displayed. You can have multiple workspaces open at the same time (which seems to be the case on your end), but only one can be displayed at a time.

        For example, if under File > Workspaces I see default, untitled 1 and untitled 2 listed and am viewing the default workspace, untitled 1 and 2 are also running in the background. You could cycle between these active workspaces by clicking CTRL + F3.

        2.) In order to change another workspace to the default workspace you will need to change the name of the file in the My Documents > NinjaTrader 6.5 > Workspaces folder to Default.
        KyleNinjaTrader Customer Service

        Comment


          #5
          still "open" questions -

          1. How does NT designate workspaces to be included in the "File > Workspaces " list?
          2. How does NT determine which workspace is to be considered the "Default" workspace?
          3. What does it mean that other workspaces are "running" in the background? This especially concerns me because NT is very often consuming my entire computer CPU cycles.
          4. You didn't address my question of "what" is being saved, but reading between the lines, am I correct that if I answer "yes" to saving a workspace in that list but not open, the currently open workspace will NOT overwrite that workspace, but rather "save" it as it was last I DID use it?

          Comment


            #6
            Hello saroj,

            1. Only workspaces you opened will be listed at 'File-->Workspaces'.

            2. The workspace named 'Default' is the Default workspace. When you install NinjaTrader fresh and you start it for the first time, the (empty) Default workspace is opened.

            3. Workspaces running in the background request resources as well. If you do not need them, please close the workspace running in the background. Select the workspace via File-->Workspaces. Subsequently go to File-->Workspaces-->Close Workspace.

            4. Correct.
            JasonNinjaTrader Customer Service

            Comment

            Latest Posts

            Collapse

            Topics Statistics Last Post
            Started by dtl-saw, Today, 03:36 PM
            1 response
            7 views
            0 likes
            Last Post NinjaTrader_ChrisL  
            Started by williamzz, Today, 02:04 PM
            1 response
            10 views
            0 likes
            Last Post NinjaTrader_ChrisL  
            Started by jtrading82, Today, 01:55 PM
            3 responses
            26 views
            0 likes
            Last Post NinjaTrader_Tyler  
            Started by StevenNelson, Today, 01:00 PM
            4 responses
            19 views
            0 likes
            Last Post StevenNelson  
            Started by allinthechart, Today, 12:21 PM
            0 responses
            9 views
            0 likes
            Last Post allinthechart  
            Working...
            X