NinjaTrader Support Forum

NinjaTrader Support Forum (http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/forum/index.php)
-   Indicator Development (http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=68)
-   -   Problems importing indicators (http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/forum/showthread.php?t=95729)

moisess.toro 01-30-2017 08:39 PM

Problems importing indicators
 
Hi.

i am trying use NinjaTrader 8 but i have the next error when i want to import an indicator: "This NinjaScript archive was made from an older, incompatible version of NinjaTrader".

Can someone help me?

Thanks

NinjaTrader_Jim 01-31-2017 08:15 AM

Hello moisess.toro,

Welcome to our support forum!

The error you are receiving indicates that the script you are trying to import was built for an older version of NinjaTrader.

Indicators built with NinjaTrader 7 are not compatible with NinjaTrader 8 as certain functionality has become deprecated and replaced.

You can confirm the NinjaTrader version number of a downloaded indicator by checking the Info.xml within the indicator zip file with your favorite text editor.

If you have any other questions, or would like further information on porting NinjaTrader 7 indicators to NinjaTrader 8, please let me know.

User1104 01-31-2017 11:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by moisess.toro (Post 493290)
Hi.

i am trying use NinjaTrader 8 but i have the next error when i want to import an indicator: "This NinjaScript archive was made from an older, incompatible version of NinjaTrader".

Can someone help me?

Thanks

Jim is also correct, but wanted to expand on this. I've seen this message as well if a user tries to import a zip file that contains a dll and not the required files to import a ninjascript package. Eg. If a developer creates a dll and zip's it, sends it to the user and requires them to put it into the NinjaTrader8/bin/custom/ folder as a dll, but instead the user tries to import it, they will also get this message.

Just another situation where you can see it.

Ifeoluwa 09-16-2017 09:15 AM

This Ninja script archive was made from an older, incompatible version of Ninjatrader
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by User1104 (Post 493407)
Jim is also correct, but wanted to expand on this. I've seen this message as well if a user tries to import a zip file that contains a dll and not the required files to import a ninjascript package. Eg. If a developer creates a dll and zip's it, sends it to the user and requires them to put it into the NinjaTrader8/bin/custom/ folder as a dll, but instead the user tries to import it, they will also get this message.

Just another situation where you can see it.



Are you saying this problem can be solved if one copies the custom indicator into the specified path: NinjaTrader8/bin/custom? I'm also having the same problem importing a custom indicator.

NinjaTrader_Jim 09-18-2017 08:04 AM

Welcome to the forums!

We generally advise to use the import and export functionality in NinjaTrader to create NinjaScript packages. This also refers to exporting DLL's and dependent assemblies. We do not typically recommend to import these indicators by manually placing them in the bin/custom folder as mistakes can cause compilation errors for the custom NinjaScript assembly.

You may confirm if a package is made for a certain version of NinjaTrader by opening the zip file and opening the Info.xml file with a text editor.

Please let me know if I may be of further assistance.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:12 PM.