Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

OnBarUpdate not getting called

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

OnBarUpdate not getting called

Hi
    I am new to Ninjatrader and program trading, I was trying to create a simply indicator to test my concept. So I had created a c# dll using .net framework 4.5, really a normal one, no other third party code inside.
    And I added this dll to ninjatrader editor reference and compiled without issue.

Here is the code, really simply, create custom object and print the high value :

Code:
    protected override void OnBarUpdate()
    		{
    //			Add your custom indicator logic here.
    			XTrading.Comp.Bar b = new XTrading.Comp.Bar(
    				Time[0],
    				(decimal)Open[0],
    				(decimal)Close[0],
    				(decimal)High[0],
    				(decimal)Low[0],
    				(int)Volume[0]
    				);

Print(b.High);
    		}
    After I added the indicator to the chart with my historical data, I found that there is nothing output to the output window, even in the debug mode with VS2017 pro, putting a breakpoint at the entry of OnBarUpdate method, still nothing happen.

Could anyone give me some advise whats goes wrong?

Hello,

Thank you for the post and welcome to the NinjaTrader forum.

If this dll and your indicator compiled and you can see the indicator in NinjaTrader it might not be the cause of the issue. I have included a very minimal dll with its source code, along with the script I used to test it.
    I placed this DLL inside of Documents\NinjaTrader 8\bin\Custom, then added the dll to the references, then I reset NinjaTrader.

You will be able to see prints from the output window coming from that dll in my test script.