Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > NinjaTrader 7 > Platform Technical Support

Platform Technical Support General platform technical support for NinjaTrader 7.

NinjaTrader
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2008, 01:48 AM   #31
NinjaTrader_Dierk
Administrator
 
NinjaTrader_Dierk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bamberg, Germany
Posts: 10,083
Thanks: 2
Thanked 31 times in 24 posts
Default

Thanks. Please send a mail to "support AT ninjatrader DOT com" for follow up.
NinjaTrader_Dierk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 08:21 PM   #32
dwt1020
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Thanks for the efforts..

is there a ETA for release of version 7.0?

Until then I'll just keep rebooting until it runs..) and it always does..


d
dwt1020 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2008, 09:51 PM   #33
NinjaTrader_JoshP
NinjaTrader Product Manager
 
NinjaTrader_JoshP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 17,459
Thanks: 1
Thanked 352 times in 106 posts
Default

NT7 beta is slotted for end of the year time frame.
NinjaTrader_JoshP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 05:38 PM   #34
jrs
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

I have had similar problems and have noted that the process "vssvc.exe" (Microsoft Volume Shadow service) seems to be related. Not that I would suggest anyone else doing it (have to have that disclaimer), but when I kill the process (via Task Manager). Then try to start NT, it does start for me just fine. Don't know what the relationship is between the two are, but this works for me in almost all the cases since I discovered it...
jrs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 10:09 PM   #35
NinjaTrader_Dierk
Administrator
 
NinjaTrader_Dierk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bamberg, Germany
Posts: 10,083
Thanks: 2
Thanked 31 times in 24 posts
Default

Thanks, interesting. Will do some research.
NinjaTrader_Dierk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 02:59 PM   #36
Speedie6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 187
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 times in 1 post
Default

I had no problems with NT on my Vista laptop. But, I did have different problems with Vista, including the OS getting totally hosed for some reason. So, I just gave up and installed XP on it.
Speedie6 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 04:10 PM   #37
dwt1020
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Shadow

I do not have the shadow service running and I still have trouble getting
NT to run ...

(
dwt1020 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 11:26 PM   #38
NinjaTrader_Dierk
Administrator
 
NinjaTrader_Dierk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bamberg, Germany
Posts: 10,083
Thanks: 2
Thanked 31 times in 24 posts
Default

dwt1020: Please send me mail to "support AT ninjatrader DOT com" for follow.
NinjaTrader_Dierk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 09:00 PM   #39
zoltran
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: , Ontario, Canada
Posts: 400
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Vista64

fwiw... I have vista 64bit, and NT runs fine on it.
zoltran is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 04:00 AM   #40
nunrgguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

FWIW it won't work for me either
Asus F3T on Turion TL52 Windows Vista Home Premium. Double click, get the hourglass for a second or so then nothing.
nunrgguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 04:19 AM   #41
NinjaTrader_Dierk
Administrator
 
NinjaTrader_Dierk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bamberg, Germany
Posts: 10,083
Thanks: 2
Thanked 31 times in 24 posts
Default

You probably experience an issue related to .NET 3.5 SP1 which we still are working on. Please revert back to .NET 3.5 (no SP1) as per here: http://blogs.msdn.com/astebner/archi...1/8803442.aspx

We should have a fix available soon.
NinjaTrader_Dierk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 07:49 AM   #42
dwt1020
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Click......

I have found if I CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK.... LOL it will eventually start...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nunrgguy View Post
FWIW it won't work for me either
Asus F3T on Turion TL52 Windows Vista Home Premium. Double click, get the hourglass for a second or so then nothing.
dwt1020 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 04:15 AM   #43
ninod
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Same problem Vista will not open

I have no problem with my Vista laptop, but wil my DELL XPS 420 Vista machine NT will not open.
ninod is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 04:41 AM   #44
NinjaTrader_Dierk
Administrator
 
NinjaTrader_Dierk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bamberg, Germany
Posts: 10,083
Thanks: 2
Thanked 31 times in 24 posts
Default

Please proceed as per link in post #41
NinjaTrader_Dierk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 07:03 AM   #45
CMan1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Thanks appreciate your comment. I haven't ventured into purchasing another Vista once again. I returned the Vista system even with 4 gigs ram. I will not purchase unless forced when XP isn't supported any longer.
Then I may never purchase an only use a Linux systems.
By that time they may be some chart software in Linux.
I would rather use Linux OS systems quick and fast but no NT.
When I get a chance I will see if I can bring up NT in a Virtual Machine.
Looked at a few OS in VM and they moved quick like a road runner.
Even with my XP with 2 gig ram 3500 dual core system. I find NT is excellent once I have it up and running. The start up process is a turtle even after all other processes are up and running.

Notice: NT support please don't ask for a remote session to look at my system.

Have A Great Day,
CMan
CMan1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista compatible Jurik Tools in NinjaTrader Learning1 Indicator Development 2 04-18-2009 08:09 PM
Vista... funk101 Platform Technical Support 5 07-21-2007 04:11 AM
New Hardware & Operating system??? higler Platform Technical Support 1 06-29-2007 11:33 AM
NinjaTrader and Windows Vista compatibility NinjaTrader_VinceB Platform Technical Support 0 02-05-2007 03:13 AM
NT & Vista RC1 Savage1701 Platform Technical Support 6 10-15-2006 07:22 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:26 PM.

Futures, foreign currency and options trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.

CFTC Rules 4.41 - Hypothetical or Simulated performance results have certain limitations, unlike an actual performance record, simulated results do not represent actual trading. Also, since the trades have not been executed, the results may have under-or-over compensated for the impact, if any, of certain market factors, such as lack of liquidity. Simulated trading programs in general are also subject to the fact that they are designed with the benefit of hindsight. No representation is being made that any account will or is likely to achieve profit or losses similar to those shown.

This website is hosted and operated by NinjaTrader, LLC (“NT”), a software development company which owns and supports all proprietary technology relating to and including the NinjaTrader trading platform. NT is an affiliated company to NinjaTrader Brokerage (“NTB”), which is a NFA registered introducing broker (NFA #0339976) providing brokerage services to traders of futures and foreign exchange products. This website is intended for educational and informational purposes only and should not be viewed as a solicitation or recommendation of any product, service or trading strategy. No offer or solicitation to buy or sell securities, securities derivative or futures products of any kind, or any type of trading or investment advice, recommendation or strategy, is made, given, or in any manner endorsed by any NT affiliate and the information made available on this Web site is not an offer or solicitation of any kind. Specific questions related to a brokerage account should be sent to your broker directly. The content and opinions expressed on this website are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of NT or any of its affiliates. 

Vendors along with their websites, products and services, collectively referred to as (“Vendor Content”), are independent persons or companies that are in no manner affiliated with NT or any if its affiliates. NT or any of its affiliates are not responsible for, do not approve, recommend or endorse any Vendor Content referenced on this website and it’s your sole responsibility to evaluate Vendor Content. Please be aware that any performance information provided by a vendor should be considered hypothetical and must contain the disclosures required by NFA Rule 2-29(c). If you are interested in learning more about, or investigating the quality of, any such Vendor Content you must contact the vendor, provider or seller of such Vendor Content. No person employed by, or associated with, NT or any of its affiliates is authorized to provide any information about any such Vendor Content.