Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Max daily loss limit

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Max daily loss limit

Good morning,

New here, hopefully this is in the right spot, I am looking for a way to set up a maximum dollar daily loss in ninja trader 7 for $1000. Do you guys know of a way to do this? Looking for ninja trader to not allow new trades to be executed if the daily P/N reaches ($1000). Just like a prop account would have.

I found a couple threads were people were talking about it but nothing solid. I am not good at righting code with ninja trader, I am a day trader and I just use them for there "on the chart trading" so I figured I would come ask the experts.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Alyssa

Hello Alyssa,

Thanks for writing in, and welcome!

There is not a supported way to prevent manual order submissions through NinjaScript, but you can add logic to a NinjaScript strategy so that strategy will cease firing orders after the Account's realized PnL reaches a certain point.

This can be done by checking the PnL with one of the methods below, and then setting a bool that controls your trading logic so the trades no longer fire.

Account realized PnL can be retrieved with GetAccountValue() - https://ninjatrader.com/support/help...countvalue.htm

Account Unrealized PnL would not be attainable through NinjaScript in NinjaTrader 7, but you could get the strategy's Unrealized PnL with Position.GetProfitLoss() - https://ninjatrader.com/support/help...profitloss.htm

NinjaTrader 8 can see the Unrealized PnL on the account with https://ninjatrader.com/support/help...itemupdate.htm