Slope of EMA of Prices

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Slope of EMA of Prices

I have been successfully trading using ThinkOrSwim for years and I like it a lot... but I just started using NT8 and I think I can do even more "damage" to the markets with NT8 because it has even more flexbility and "power" than ToS.

I am new to c# and NinjaScript and furiously trying to learn it... I will eventually but the learning curve is there.

I'm trying to convert my "stuff" from ToS to NT8 and I'm getting close but one thing I cannot sort out is what I talk about below.

The code below (below the NinjaScript) simply plots the slope of the EMA of the prices and also plots an AVG of the slope itself. It's in ThinkScript. It works, have used it for years.

I tried converting the code below (below the NinjaScript snippet, which I put in as a reference) with no luck.

I tried using slope() and slope() must be outputting something different than what I need as it looks nothing like what I have on my ThinkOrSwim charts with the code below.

I got the slope() code from a NT8 staffer... and like I said, it works in that it shows something but not what I was expecting so it must be outputting the slope differently... because even when the EMA is sloping up... sometimes the code I was given is below 0... and the spikes it has don't coincide with the charts.

This is the NinjaScript I was given:
    protected override void OnStateChange(){
    if (State == State.SetDefaults){
    AddPlot(Brushes.Goldenrod, "MyPlot");
    }
    }

protected override void OnBarUpdate()
    { double m = Slope(EMA(14), 10, 0);
    Values[0][0] = m;
    }

Anyways, can anyone convert the ThinkScript code below to NinjaScript. It's not that long... and I would think an expert in NinjaScript could do it quickly... and the ThinkScript is pretty straight forward and would be easy to understand for a coder, even if you don't know thinkscript... hopefully one day I can get that good in NS as well.