Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > NinjaScript File Sharing > NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion

NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Discussion for shared NinjaScript files.

NinjaTrader
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2011, 06:11 AM   #181
DeanV
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 times in 4 posts
Default

mystiq, Off hand, didn't notice any obvious issues. Few things to concider...

Equity day ends at 4 pm, so could change SessionLenghtinhours to 6.5 for consistancy.

Could try a few more Slots (300 - 500) since each cent is the real detail level. You may want to combine them as you are with 100 slots (more of a preference thing really). On a 30 min. chart probably won't mater much. Just thoughts to try.

Your using VWTPO so (somewhat hidden) volume will scew it compaired to just price. Depending on data provider, some can send different volume results at times (don't know why, but have seen it).

Unless you have a compelling reason to stay with 6.5 (and you may!), the v7 of my indicator has a few newer features that I find useful (i.e. able to combine days, etc.). Don't think the final results would be different as your using it though (don't recal any calc changes along those lines).

Hope that Helps!
Dean.
DeanV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 07:39 AM   #182
mystiq
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 147
Thanks: 21
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
Thumbs up

..thanks for the quick response...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeanV View Post
mystiq, Off hand, didn't notice any obvious issues. Few things to concider...

Equity day ends at 4 pm, so could change SessionLenghtinhours to 6.5 for consistancy.
*change this on the chart or on the indicator?*

Could try a few more Slots (300 - 500) since each cent is the real detail level. You may want to combine them as you are with 100 slots (more of a preference thing really). On a 30 min. chart probably won't mater much. Just thoughts to try.
*will adopt this change*

Your using VWTPO so (somewhat hidden) volume will scew it compaired to just price. Depending on data provider, some can send different volume results at times (don't know why, but have seen it).
*will just use TPO*

Unless you have a compelling reason to stay with 6.5 (and you may!), the v7 of my indicator has a few newer features that I find useful (i.e. able to combine days, etc.). Don't think the final results would be different as your using it though (don't recal any calc changes along those lines).
*i have custom indicators for 6.5 and have reservations on upgrading, knowing there are problems migrating...*...that is an issue to take up with NT support, I have no problems using 6.5 for now*

Hope that Helps!
Dean.
..will try changes and respond back with results.
mystiq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 12:12 PM   #183
mystiq
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 147
Thanks: 21
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mystiq View Post
..thanks for the quick response...



..will try changes and respond back with results.

I implemented the changes and believe I can work with the results. The VaT/POC/VaB are all at levels that I can work with that support my entries and exits.

i attached my new settings and chart.

Thx
~the first is before changes were made.
Attached Files
File Type: doc New Microsoft Office Word Document 3.doc (208.0 KB, 157 views)
mystiq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 08:23 PM   #184
mystiq
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 147
Thanks: 21
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
Default plotting evolving VAt / VAb / POC

John, Here's a renamed (dValueAreaRtVA) and quickly modified version (NT 6.5) that will show the RealTime VA's when you ask for the RealTime POC.

Dean.
Attached FilesdValueAreaRtVa.zip (11.7 KB, 111 views)

will this version plot the realtime(current) va's in market analyzer? the Rt version posted?

...to be specific, the evolving VA's & evolving POC

..lastly: POC , RtPOC, Evolving POC ...what is the major difference? and which one is the current for the day?
Last edited by mystiq; 05-09-2011 at 11:19 PM. Reason: edit
mystiq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 05:59 AM   #185
DeanV
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 times in 4 posts
Default

mystiq,

Havn't used this in Market Analyzer so not sure. Try it! In general, I think if output is coded as a PLOT, you can get to it.

POC (PLOT's) are representing "yesterdays" activity. What's ploted today is really where yesterday ended up.

Evolving is where it's at right now.. today, for today. It can change with every bar. Where it ends up at end of day is about where the POC will plot the next day (it won't catch the final bar). These are not PLOT's but either line draw's or text.

RealTime is just a historical PLOT of the Evolving. It should match at the last bar ploted.

Hope that helps!
Dean.
DeanV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 02:40 AM   #186
mystiq
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 147
Thanks: 21
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeanV View Post
mystiq,

Havn't used this in Market Analyzer so not sure. Try it! In general, I think if output is coded as a PLOT, you can get to it.

POC (PLOT's) are representing "yesterdays" activity. What's ploted today is really where yesterday ended up.

Evolving is where it's at right now.. today, for today. It can change with every bar. Where it ends up at end of day is about where the POC will plot the next day (it won't catch the final bar). These are not PLOT's but either line draw's or text.

RealTime is just a historical PLOT of the Evolving. It should match at the last bar ploted.

Hope that helps!
Dean.

..yes it did..thanks...but..."RealTime is just a historical PLOT of the Evolving. It should match at the last bar ploted"



in other words: evolving POC from yesterday would be POC today AND evolving POC from today would be realtime POC today ?

to clarify, POC is yesterdays activity; evolving POC is todays activity; realtime POC is historical evolving POC ...as in IF evolving POC is "2.50", then realtime POC would be "2.50" also

....basically trying to plot the evolving POC by substituting with realtime POC in market analyzer
Last edited by mystiq; 05-11-2011 at 02:45 AM.
mystiq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 08:55 AM   #187
djkiwi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 323
Thanks: 88
Thanked 5 times in 5 posts
Default Developing value and Yesterdays Value

Hi Dean, thanks for posting below. I am able to get the formula for yesterdays VAt and VAb for TF. For those interested here it is:

VAT=dValueArea(false,6,30,0.7,2,2,_dValueEnums.dVa lueAreaTypes.VWTPO,0,100,1,6.75,true,300,false,2). VAt[1];
VAB=dValueArea(false,6,30,0.7,2,2,_dValueEnums.dVa lueAreaTypes.VWTPO,0,100,1,6.75,true,300,false,2). VAb[1];

The problem I'm having now is accessing the devloping Value area high and low. I tried using eVAop and an error came up and said "cannot be accessed due to its protection level". I did see this defined in the variables. Please see code below:

VATT=dValueArea(false,6,30,0.7,2,2,_dValueEnums.dV alueAreaTypes.VWTPO,0,100,1,6.75,true,300,false,2) .eVAtop[0];

Any ideas on this would be appreciated.

Thanks
DJ
djkiwi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 04:14 AM   #188
DeanV
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 times in 4 posts
Default

djkiwi,

Think the easy way would be to setup 2 more plots and set those to equal the evolving variables in OnBarUpdate (like where RtPOC is being set... could probably just copy that code more or less). That would also get you historical access for bars past. You could set color to transparent so they don't show on screen or such.

There is a way or 2 to "publish" the existing variabls for external access, but it's about the same work as the plots, and you would also need to setup new dataseries variables anyway if you wanted previous bar data, I think. Off hand, don't remember the details on that.

Hope that helps!

Dean.
DeanV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 08:21 AM   #189
tortexal
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Panama!
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

Is there anyway i can hide the price bars so i only see the volume histogram?
tortexal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 09:37 AM   #190
DeanV
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 times in 4 posts
Default

Quick way could be to set dataseries to Line on Close and make color Transparent.

Could be other ways.
DeanV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 09:41 AM   #191
tortexal
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Panama!
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

i thought that was the way to do it but then the histogram disapears bc the axis scaling on the chart changes to only 2 ticks wide for some reason. My Y axis top end is 1272.50 bottom end is 1272.00
tortexal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 09:51 AM   #192
koganam
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: omegasigmaindicators.com
Posts: 7,235
Thanks: 56
Thanked 3,012 times in 2,437 posts
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by tortexal View Post
i thought that was the way to do it but then the histogram disapears bc the axis scaling on the chart changes to only 2 ticks wide for some reason. My Y axis top end is 1272.50 bottom end is 1272.00
Change to HiLo, OHLC or Box price display, and make the colors transparent. You must have a range of bar type of display in order to display TPO or volume distribution. Just think about it.
koganam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 09:53 AM   #193
tortexal
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Panama!
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

nah its still out of wack. this is NT 7 btw
Attached Images
File Type: png CropperCapture[2].png (74.9 KB, 91 views)
File Type: png CropperCapture[1].png (69.1 KB, 68 views)
tortexal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 09:55 AM   #194
tortexal
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Panama!
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

transparent color vs non
Attached Images
File Type: png CropperCapture[4].png (121.8 KB, 147 views)
File Type: png CropperCapture[3].png (148.0 KB, 138 views)
tortexal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 09:58 AM   #195
DeanV
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 times in 4 posts
Default

On the indicator, try seting Auto Scale to True. Should then scale the plots and get you in the park.
DeanV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Entering Trades When Price Away from Key Areas of Support & Resistance dgregor5 Strategy Development 4 01-19-2008 03:40 PM
Shading areas of chart? higler Platform Technical Support 3 05-01-2007 07:58 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:54 PM.

Futures, foreign currency and options trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.

CFTC Rules 4.41 - Hypothetical or Simulated performance results have certain limitations, unlike an actual performance record, simulated results do not represent actual trading. Also, since the trades have not been executed, the results may have under-or-over compensated for the impact, if any, of certain market factors, such as lack of liquidity. Simulated trading programs in general are also subject to the fact that they are designed with the benefit of hindsight. No representation is being made that any account will or is likely to achieve profit or losses similar to those shown.

This website is hosted and operated by NinjaTrader, LLC (“NT”), a software development company which owns and supports all proprietary technology relating to and including the NinjaTrader trading platform. NT is an affiliated company to NinjaTrader Brokerage (“NTB”), which is a NFA registered introducing broker (NFA #0339976) providing brokerage services to traders of futures and foreign exchange products. This website is intended for educational and informational purposes only and should not be viewed as a solicitation or recommendation of any product, service or trading strategy. No offer or solicitation to buy or sell securities, securities derivative or futures products of any kind, or any type of trading or investment advice, recommendation or strategy, is made, given, or in any manner endorsed by any NT affiliate and the information made available on this Web site is not an offer or solicitation of any kind. Specific questions related to a brokerage account should be sent to your broker directly. The content and opinions expressed on this website are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of NT or any of its affiliates. 

Vendors along with their websites, products and services, collectively referred to as (“Vendor Content”), are independent persons or companies that are in no manner affiliated with NT or any if its affiliates. NT or any of its affiliates are not responsible for, do not approve, recommend or endorse any Vendor Content referenced on this website and it’s your sole responsibility to evaluate Vendor Content. Please be aware that any performance information provided by a vendor should be considered hypothetical and must contain the disclosures required by NFA Rule 2-29(c). If you are interested in learning more about, or investigating the quality of, any such Vendor Content you must contact the vendor, provider or seller of such Vendor Content. No person employed by, or associated with, NT or any of its affiliates is authorized to provide any information about any such Vendor Content.