Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

query on stochastic and fast stochastic

Hi NT,

Looking at the code for these indicators, it seems the calculation is non-standard.
    Taking the Fast Stochastic for example, the lines of interest are:
    nom.Set(Close[0] - MIN(Low, PeriodK)[0]);
    den.Set(MAX(High, PeriodK)[0] - MIN(Low, PeriodK)[0]);
    double nomSum = SUM(nom, PeriodD)[0];
    double denSum = SUM(den, PeriodD)[0];
    D.Set(Math.Min(100, 100 * nomSum / denSum));
    So the %D number is average(C-L) / average(H-L). But this is not the same as the average( (C-L) / (H-L) ). Which is what I expected, because every reference I can find on the stochastic, claims that %D is a moving average of %K and %K is (C-L)/(H-L).

There is a similar situation with the regular Stochastic indicator, where %K should be smoothed by a moving average and then %D should be the result smoothed once more.

Am I missing something? I am no expert on these indicators, nor on NinjaScript programming.

thanks

Hello,

Can you give me an example as what your using for reference.

The stochastic indicator has been with us for many years unchanged and this would be my first query on it. Therefor I highly doubt a programming issue but would look into if you felt that it was warranted. To my knowledge it programmed correctly.

I look forward to assisting you further.

Comment

Originally posted by trapezoid View Post
      Hi NT,

Looking at the code for these indicators, it seems the calculation is non-standard.
      Taking the Fast Stochastic for example, the lines of interest are:
      double nomSum = SUM(nom, PeriodD)[0];
      double denSum = SUM(den, PeriodD)[0];
      D.Set(Math.Min(100, 100 * nomSum / denSum));
      So the %D number is average(C-L) / average(H-L). But this is not the same as the average( (C-L) / (H-L) ). Which is what I expected, because every reference I can find on the stochastic, claims that %D is a moving average of %K and %K is (C-L)/(H-L).