Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Best Practices Question - Multiple Indicators across Multiple Timeframes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best Practices Question - Multiple Indicators across Multiple Timeframes

This is a Best Practices question - I'm an experienced programmer, and have no problem rolling up my sleeves and writing C# code. I'm fairly new to NinjaScript, but I've gone through the support and tutorial docs like a good programmer should. I have a fairly complex strategy that I want to implement and backtest, and I think I know how to do in NS - but my current code is *ugly*. Scary ugly. Not only is ugly unpleasant, it tends to lead to un-maintainable, buggy, fragile code. So:

My strategy uses several indicators - as many as ten - each applied to multiple time frames of the same instrument. The indicators can be fairly complex; for example, some have offsets or displacements applied, some are custom indicators with three or four values in their parameter list. I make multiple references to these indicators throughout my strategy, so I wind up writing code that looks like this:

if (MyStochastic(15,20,3,3).KValue[0] < MyStochastic(15,20,3,3).DValue[0] &&
    CrossAbove(Close[1][0], MyTripleEMA(BarsArray[1], 20, 3))
    EnterLong( ...yada yada.... )

Writing out the indicators by hand, when they're referenced multiple times, is both annoying, ugly, and prone to fat-finger error.

I had thought that I could just declare instances of the indicators in the Variables region and instantiate them in the Initialize() method. This also seemed appealing, because it would let me give more pleasant logical names to multiple indicators of the same type: