Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

MultiTimeFrame coding - variable results

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

MultiTimeFrame coding - variable results

Let me start by saying this is my first post to this forum and therefore I apologise in advance for any errors in posting or etiquette (accidental of course)..

This is going to be lengthy I think as I reckon I'll need to get a lot of information across in order to solicit the level of help I need. However, I wouldn't be surprised if I'm doing something so obviously wrong that I get an 'obivous' solution but I'll be grateful whichever way.

Background on Me

I've been programming on NinjaTrader 7 for over 2 years and after a false start moved over to NinjaTrader 8 about six months ago.My background is a C programmer a long time ago so I am self taught in C# (and object orientation in general) and so wouldn't be surprised that I make obvious language mistakes.

Background on the Problem

I've written lots of MTF indicators and by and large I've thought they were OK except that I have noticed what I would call inconsistencies on the slightly more convoluted ones i.e. often those that call my or other peoples custom indicators. I have done simple tests on MTF SMA that seem to work fine.

My preferred bar type is BetterRenko. I have considered whether this is an issue but having looked at my stuff on other bar types I still see the problem.

The Problem

So .... I have an indicator that plots trend lines between swing points. These trend lines can be 'high' or 'low' based on joining high or low swings. It also plots a marker on the chart and publishes an integer series when one of these trend lines is crossed.