Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

NinjaTrader 8 - How To Copy Indicator

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

NinjaTrader 8 - How To Copy Indicator

Hello,

I'm trying to create a new indicator based on the existing NinjaTrader 8 "Pivots" indicator. I'm not a great programmer, however I think I know enough to make the changes I'm looking for.

I've made a copy of the Pivots code by doing a "select all" and "save as" from within the NinjaScript Editor, then created my custom name. Once the new indicator was made, I tried to compile it then received these errors (See attachment)

I did a search on Google and the NinjaTrader forums, however I wasn't able to find anything that worked (or made sense to me). Any advice on this?

Thank you.
    Attached Files

Hello TzunTzai,

Thanks for your post.

Please note we are asking all NinjaTrader8 posts to be placed in the NinjaTrader8 beta forums. This helps the community keep NT7 and NT8 items separate when searching.

It sounds like you have created a copy using the process you did, there is a slightly easier way:

To create a copy of an indicator:
    1) open the indicator in the Ninjascript editor
    2) In the code of the Ninjascript file, right mouse click and select "save as"
    3) Enter new indicator/file name. > new file created.

The error messages you posted are related to the the two public enums and the "TypeConverter".

The enums have already been created by the original pivots indicator and they already exist in the indicators namespace. The easiest way to deal with them is to comment them out from your indicator (lines 453 - 468).

For the type converter, it would be easiest to rename it. In line 33 change: