Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > NinjaTrader 7 > Indicator Development

Indicator Development Support for the development of custom indicators using NinjaScript.

NinjaTrader
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2018, 07:46 AM   #31
Dolfan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 311
Thanks: 56
Thanked 7 times in 7 posts
Default

OK, so as I see it and correct me if I am wrong, there is no way to select it in the strategy builder but before enabling the strategy I can select edit strategy and set the parameters there. Additionally I can set them to default for a particular strategy. Thanks.

Best regards,

Dolfan
Dolfan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 07:56 AM   #32
NinjaTrader_Jesse
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 5,066
Thanks: 30
Thanked 1,292 times in 1,210 posts
Default

Hello Dolfan,

In the control center, selecting Edit Strategy from the Strategies Tab will allow you to define the DataSeries and Session Template it is applied to. If you are referring to the Tools -> Edit NinjScript -> Strategy and the Wizard, that does not have any way to define the session information. This is strictly set up when you apply a strategy to the control center tab directly.

If you had applied a strategy to a chart, the strategy is still listed in the control center so in that case, you need to go to the chart and change the charts DataSeries to change the session information.

I look forward to being of further assistance.
NinjaTrader_Jesse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 02:16 PM   #33
Dolfan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 311
Thanks: 56
Thanked 7 times in 7 posts
Default

Jesse,

I ran a replay of ES today and I opened 2 charts setting 1 to Default 24/7 and the other to Instrument Settings. I applied the strategy to both and ran Market Reply (Ninja7). Neither chart opened trades. I watch it zoom past what should have been entry points but nothing. The strategy opened trades for me live today so I am certain proper trade signals were present, at least live.

I have never applied a strategy using the chart before. Is there something specific I need to know about doing this in Market Reply mode?

Dolfan
Dolfan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2018, 07:45 AM   #34
NinjaTrader_Jesse
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 5,066
Thanks: 30
Thanked 1,292 times in 1,210 posts
Default

Hello Dolfan,

Applying a strategy in replay should be just like real-time, except you need the Replay101 account selected. Without knowing if the scripts code was being called, I really couldn't answer what may have happened in that test.

Because market replay was being used, this could be related to quite a few variables, I would likely suggest to try and recreate that test to further troubleshoot.

After connecting to replay and configuring your start time, apply a new instance of the strategy to the chart or control center and then enable it. If the strategy is Green in the control center, it should work going forward like it does in realtime. If your conditions to trade for some reason are not true in replay that may be the reason. This would be a situation where prints would be invaluable to figure out what specifically is happening.

I look forward to being of further assistance.
NinjaTrader_Jesse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 09:05 AM   #35
Dolfan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 311
Thanks: 56
Thanked 7 times in 7 posts
Default

Jesse,

Does slippage occur in Market Replay? Also, is there somewhere that I can read the times that all of the sessions options are open? This greatly affect where my lines are painted. Thanks!

Best regards,

Dolfan
Dolfan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 07:24 AM   #36
NinjaTrader_Jesse
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 5,066
Thanks: 30
Thanked 1,292 times in 1,210 posts
Default

Hello Dolfan,

Thank you for the reply.

Yes, slippage can occur in replay, this would depend on the data that is being played back and if slippage could occur within that situation. There are no means to control the amount of slippage going forward like a backtest because this is a real-time mode.

Regarding the session question, are you asking how to locate instruments that are currently in session? Can you describe what your goal is here further?

I look forward to being of further assistance.
NinjaTrader_Jesse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 09:55 AM   #37
Dolfan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 311
Thanks: 56
Thanked 7 times in 7 posts
Default

Regarding slippage, would you say it is more prevalent when running at 500x speed than say 100x speed? Is there a target speed that would be more reliable than others?

As for sessions, the opening or settlement price is where my support and resistance lines measure from so if I use a session template that starts at 5pm the day before, they will measure from there. If I use a template where the session begins at midnight, they will measure from there. If I use a session that begins at 9 or 9:30 am, they will measure from there. I am looking for the session template/time frame that produces the most accurate and productive entries. Does that make sense?

Dolfan
Dolfan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 03:57 PM   #38
NinjaTrader_Jesse
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Jesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 5,066
Thanks: 30
Thanked 1,292 times in 1,210 posts
Default

Hello Dolfan,

Thank you for the reply.

As far as I am aware this would rely on the market, the platform has does not necessarily have any control over slippage except in historical where a maximum can be defined.

Regarding the session, this sound like this would be considered trading advice which I could not comment on. This is something you would need to test and find what works best for your goal. There is nothing specific I could suggest for what would be best here.

Please let me know if I may be of additional assistance.
NinjaTrader_Jesse is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 04:32 PM   #39
Dolfan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 311
Thanks: 56
Thanked 7 times in 7 posts
Default

I remain confused about slippage. This occurs when trading live due mostly to latency of connections between the market <like CME>, the server and or broker and my computer. I understand there is slippage within the market as well. But latency slippage does not occur on my PC since I no longer run on an IBM x286. So what causes slippage within the platform?

I do not seek trading advice. See my picture here for hopefully a clearer understanding of what I am asking. https://www.screencast.com/t/MFFNiDij

Dolfan
Dolfan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 01:16 PM   #40
NinjaTrader_PatrickH
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_PatrickH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 11,761
Thanks: 792
Thanked 2,034 times in 1,957 posts
Default

Hello Dolfan,

Thank you for your response.

Slippage on the Sim101 and Playback101 accounts is handled by the simulation fill engine in NinjaTrader.

The Trading Hours templates can be viewed under the Tools > Trading Hours menu in the Control Center.

For information on the Trading Hours window please visit the following link: https://ninjatrader.com/support/help...ding_hours.htm

Please let me know if you have any questions.
NinjaTrader_PatrickH is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to NinjaTrader_PatrickH for this post:
Old 05-16-2018, 03:27 PM   #41
Dolfan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 311
Thanks: 56
Thanked 7 times in 7 posts
Default

So the slippage is randomly generated to simulate trading conditions? That would make sense.

Tools> Trading Hours> BAM! That's exactly what I was looking for. Thank you so much. Since I am using Ninja7 for my strategy, and that is not on that Tools> list for options, I was not seeing this.

Best regards,

Dolfan
Dolfan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 06:15 AM   #42
NinjaTrader_PatrickH
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_PatrickH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 11,761
Thanks: 792
Thanked 2,034 times in 1,957 posts
Default

Hello Dolfan,

Thank you for your response.

The simulation engine uses internal logic to determine slippage on the orders submitted to the Sim101 and Playback101 accounts.

Please let me know if you have any questions.
NinjaTrader_PatrickH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
draw lines, session breaks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
v8.0.0.9 => DrawingTools.ChartAnchor breaks Draw.Line Adfra General Development 2 03-29-2016 03:56 PM
do you think session breaks affect indicator values? user42 Platform Technical Support 3 04-05-2012 04:23 AM
Session breaks crash NT in replay LTWCI Platform Technical Support 1 07-07-2011 07:21 PM
Session breaks astrolobe Platform Technical Support 1 04-04-2008 08:44 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:11 AM.

Futures, foreign currency and options trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.

CFTC Rules 4.41 - Hypothetical or Simulated performance results have certain limitations, unlike an actual performance record, simulated results do not represent actual trading. Also, since the trades have not been executed, the results may have under-or-over compensated for the impact, if any, of certain market factors, such as lack of liquidity. Simulated trading programs in general are also subject to the fact that they are designed with the benefit of hindsight. No representation is being made that any account will or is likely to achieve profit or losses similar to those shown.

This website is hosted and operated by NinjaTrader, LLC (“NT”), a software development company which owns and supports all proprietary technology relating to and including the NinjaTrader trading platform. NT is an affiliated company to NinjaTrader Brokerage (“NTB”), which is a NFA registered introducing broker (NFA #0339976) providing brokerage services to traders of futures and foreign exchange products. This website is intended for educational and informational purposes only and should not be viewed as a solicitation or recommendation of any product, service or trading strategy. No offer or solicitation to buy or sell securities, securities derivative or futures products of any kind, or any type of trading or investment advice, recommendation or strategy, is made, given, or in any manner endorsed by any NT affiliate and the information made available on this Web site is not an offer or solicitation of any kind. Specific questions related to a brokerage account should be sent to your broker directly. The content and opinions expressed on this website are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of NT or any of its affiliates. 

Vendors along with their websites, products and services, collectively referred to as (“Vendor Content”), are independent persons or companies that are in no manner affiliated with NT or any if its affiliates. NT or any of its affiliates are not responsible for, do not approve, recommend or endorse any Vendor Content referenced on this website and it’s your sole responsibility to evaluate Vendor Content. Please be aware that any performance information provided by a vendor should be considered hypothetical and must contain the disclosures required by NFA Rule 2-29(c). If you are interested in learning more about, or investigating the quality of, any such Vendor Content you must contact the vendor, provider or seller of such Vendor Content. No person employed by, or associated with, NT or any of its affiliates is authorized to provide any information about any such Vendor Content.