Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Shortcut?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Shortcut?

Let me preface this with saying I'm a complete programming noob.

I wanted to tinker around with the coding for an existing Ninjascript system indicator. I created a new custom indicator, then copied and pasted a system indicator (CandleStickPattern) into my newly created indicator. When I tried compiling it, the errors popped up. I would like to find a NinjaSript similar to what I'm looking for and see what I can do with playing around with it. Anyone know if there is a way to do this?

Thanks,

Gennaker, welcome to our forums - please delete just created custom indicator again from the platform.

And then start this process by opening up a system indicator you wish to copy and right click in the code selecting then 'save as' and enter a new name for the script to be copied into. Then you could gradually work your changes in this script.

For getting started in NinjaScript, I generally recommend taking a look at those tutorials:

BertrandNinjaTrader Customer Service

Comment

The tutorials were helpful and I've been able to manipulate some of the coding to create a few indicators I want. However, I tried to delete a draft NinjaScript and got an error message saying it was referenced by another NinjaScript and these dependencies must be removed first. I've gone back through all the files I worked on today and can not find where I may have done this. I guess there is no harm in leaving it there?

Comment

Gennaker, great to hear on your successes - I would then simply leave it there for now.

Comment