Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SELL STOP Limit Order

Hi,

I'm new to stop limit order and would like to understand the best way to place my orders with a proper offset setting.

First of all, please take a look at the attached images.

Let me give you a hypothetical example.
    I'm expecting a major breakout to the downside below 2905. So I want to place my sell order at 2904.75. Since I want a guaranteed fill at 2904.75 or better, I guess I should use Sell Stop Limit order.

Question 1
    What does it mean placing a sell stop limit order at 2904.75 with offset -2(negative)? Does it mean the order will be filled only at 2904,75, 2905 or 2905.25?

Question 2
    When I place a sell stop limit order at 2904.75 with offset 0 but later I want to change to 1. In this case, should I cancel the order and place a new order with offset 1 or is there a way to change it easily without cancelling the existing pending order?

Question 3
    From the above scenario, what is the best way to place sell order in advance to get filled at 2904.75 or better? Sell stop limit order at 2904.75 with offset 0 or negative?

Question 4
    What exactly will happen to my sell stop limit order at 2904.75 with offset 0 when current market price drops from 2905 to 2904.75? sell stop limit order will become sell limit order at 2904.75?

Question 5
    All limit orders are placed first come first served based. Is there a way to find where my stop limit order is standing in queue?

By the way, I do not use predefined stop limit offset for chart trader (it's unchecked)

Thank you for your support.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by jjanguda; 09-15-2018, 10:33 PM.

Hello jjanguda,

Thank you for your post.