Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > NinjaTrader 7 > Platform Technical Support

Platform Technical Support General platform technical support for NinjaTrader 7.

NinjaTrader
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2011, 07:03 AM   #61
NinjaTrader_Brett
NinjaTrader Product Management
 
NinjaTrader_Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 7,273
Thanks: 149
Thanked 577 times in 485 posts
Default

Hello,

Thanks for that then, I take it this was tested after a restart of Ninja?

Also, do you have another PC adamus?
NinjaTrader_Brett is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 07:17 AM   #62
adamus
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 55
Thanked 4 times in 3 posts
Default

Hi Brett,

yes, I always restart because there's a risk this bug might destablise the strategies I'm running.

And yes, I do have another PC, with WinXP not Win7, and I run the same version of NT7 there too but I use it for strategy analysis and I rarely load real-time charts, so I don't see the bug there.
adamus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 07:41 AM   #63
NinjaTrader_Brett
NinjaTrader Product Management
 
NinjaTrader_Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 7,273
Thanks: 149
Thanked 577 times in 485 posts
Default

Hello,

Please let me know if you see this occur on your other PC as this would help narrow it down.
NinjaTrader_Brett is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 09:23 PM   #64
rbcom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Error on loading chart data

I keep getting this error loading tick charts with a PFG data connection. This problem appeared in January.

I just tried this again with NT7 RC2 and keep getting the error.

Please advise.
Thank you.
Last edited by rbcom; 01-10-2011 at 09:25 PM.
rbcom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 08:29 AM   #65
NinjaTrader_Brett
NinjaTrader Product Management
 
NinjaTrader_Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 7,273
Thanks: 149
Thanked 577 times in 485 posts
Default

Hello,

If it is the ErrClienSideConnect issue, we are aware of the error and working with MBTrading to resolve. We believe there may have been something that changed on there servers. There is no resolution to this yet in release 2.

The only workaround currently until a resolution is made from MBTrading is to pull less then 2 days tick data currently.

Thanks for your patience.
NinjaTrader_Brett is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 04:40 PM   #66
KBJ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: , Florida, USA
Posts: 665
Thanks: 38
Thanked 13 times in 8 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KBJ View Post
I also see occasional hangs while "Loading Data" (with 7.0.1000.1 and with the earlier Betas that I tried too.)

I'm also using Zenfire and it has happened with loading instruments ES, YM, TF and 6E (but not simultaneously) so I'd guess it's not instrument related.

Also, if I click "Abort" in the Control Center, sometimes it will not complete either.

How about adding a timeout and aborting the Abort if it doesn't complete in a reasonable amount of time (say a minute or two)?

Also, could a timeout be done for the "Loading Data", so if there's no activity for a while, then quit or retry or something?
The "Loading Data" error happened again for me yesterday, and I'm on ZenFire, not MBTrading or PFG (the point being that these problems exist regardless of what broker or datafeed we're connected to, and regardless of which part of NinjaTrader is currently trying to fetch data from the server.)

Please, will someone at NinjaTrader consider the idea of adding some timeout code to detect and recover from these problems?

The error that occurred for me was a "ConnectionLost" on my datafeed when I was in the middle of doing a Historical Download. It hung with "Loading Data".

Once it lost the connection, there was no way to get it started again. The "Abort" key didn't respond in a reasonable amount of time (30-40 minutes or so), so I was forced to restart NinjaTrader.

In one of my prior jobs, I did quite a bit of network programming, and it's unreasonable to think that one will always have a good connection - thus we use timeouts and retries (even on abort commands there should be timeouts and retries.)

'nuff said.

Over to you.
KBJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 07:36 AM   #67
NinjaTrader_Brett
NinjaTrader Product Management
 
NinjaTrader_Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 7,273
Thanks: 149
Thanked 577 times in 485 posts
Default

Hello,

Thanks for the input, I have forwarded to development for their consideration.
NinjaTrader_Brett is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 09:16 PM   #68
inventor1949
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 86
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Me too I'm stuck in loading data

Is there a fix yet?
Can i revert back to earlier vearsion?
I'm using 7.01000.2 (live)
I'm with MBTrading
inventor1949 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 08:16 AM   #69
NinjaTrader_Brett
NinjaTrader Product Management
 
NinjaTrader_Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 7,273
Thanks: 149
Thanked 577 times in 485 posts
Default

Hello,

Currently the issue looks to be a possible on MBT side. I have no further news on it yet other then it is being looked into by both our development teams. However no news yet.

Also, you may try going back to an older version however most likely the tick chart load from MBT will remain the same.

Another option you might consider is getting your historical data from another data feed provider such as Kinetick in the mean time if you currently need it for trading. As there is no news on a fix for this yet.

www.kinetick.com

Let me know if I can be of further assistance.
NinjaTrader_Brett is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:09 AM   #70
inventor1949
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 86
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

This problem start it after I install the new version and the loading data problem exist before the broker log in is not loading any data from anybody. Now I need an earlier version link to download so I can go back to trading thank you..................
inventor1949 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:29 AM   #71
NinjaTrader_Brett
NinjaTrader Product Management
 
NinjaTrader_Brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 7,273
Thanks: 149
Thanked 577 times in 485 posts
Default

Hello,

Olderv ersion can be downloaded on the download page. Please let me know if this resolves the issues.

Download link: http://www.ninjatrader.com/download-registration.php
NinjaTrader_Brett is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 11:36 AM   #72
inventor1949
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 86
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default Solved

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaTrader_Brett View Post
Hello,

Olderv ersion can be downloaded on the download page. Please let me know if this resolves the issues.

Download link: http://www.ninjatrader.com/download-registration.php

I re-lauch the same vertion (7.01000.2) and this time it ask if I wanted to import the arcihve back up I click OK and after 40 min all is working fine,
inventor1949 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 04:25 PM   #73
KBJ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: , Florida, USA
Posts: 665
Thanks: 38
Thanked 13 times in 8 posts
Default Not Solved

inventor1949 - Please, please, please -- it may have worked for you (this time), but it most definitely is not "solved" in the larger sense of the word.

Please don't give the NinjaTrader developers the idea that they can just dismiss this thread.

Bugs and design flaws don't just spontaneously go away

The code still needs to have timeout logic added so it will be robust in the case where a sporadic network connectivity issue corresponds with a request to download data, and then it needs to be tested and be shown to reliably recover when an intermittent connectivity event occurs.

KBJ
KBJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 04:31 PM   #74
KBJ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: , Florida, USA
Posts: 665
Thanks: 38
Thanked 13 times in 8 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaTrader_Brett View Post
Olderv ersion can be downloaded on the download page. Please let me know if this resolves the issues.
Brett -

Please do not try to sweep this issue under the carpet.

This problem has been there throughout the V7 field test, so going back to a prior version will not make it magically disappear.

As covered in my earlier postings, it's a design flaw and cannot work reliably in all cases.

It needs to be looked at and fixed and then thoroughly tested.

If you have no one at NinjaTrader who can get the job done, send me a PM - I still do network programming and consulting from time to time.

KBJ
KBJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 04:35 PM   #75
inventor1949
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 86
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default

KBJ sorry to hear you still have problems, buy mine was as simple as waiting for the back up data to load to the new installation of NT7.
inventor1949 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chart, loading data, stuck

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help: "Error on loading chart data" Sidvish912 Platform Technical Support 4 04-28-2010 12:28 AM
"Loading Data" prompt does not go away and no chart is brought up. mic.o8o Platform Technical Support 6 10-17-2008 12:57 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:44 AM.

Futures, foreign currency and options trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.

CFTC Rules 4.41 - Hypothetical or Simulated performance results have certain limitations, unlike an actual performance record, simulated results do not represent actual trading. Also, since the trades have not been executed, the results may have under-or-over compensated for the impact, if any, of certain market factors, such as lack of liquidity. Simulated trading programs in general are also subject to the fact that they are designed with the benefit of hindsight. No representation is being made that any account will or is likely to achieve profit or losses similar to those shown.

This website is hosted and operated by NinjaTrader, LLC (“NT”), a software development company which owns and supports all proprietary technology relating to and including the NinjaTrader trading platform. NT is an affiliated company to NinjaTrader Brokerage (“NTB”), which is a NFA registered introducing broker (NFA #0339976) providing brokerage services to traders of futures and foreign exchange products. This website is intended for educational and informational purposes only and should not be viewed as a solicitation or recommendation of any product, service or trading strategy. No offer or solicitation to buy or sell securities, securities derivative or futures products of any kind, or any type of trading or investment advice, recommendation or strategy, is made, given, or in any manner endorsed by any NT affiliate and the information made available on this Web site is not an offer or solicitation of any kind. Specific questions related to a brokerage account should be sent to your broker directly. The content and opinions expressed on this website are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of NT or any of its affiliates. 

Vendors along with their websites, products and services, collectively referred to as (“Vendor Content”), are independent persons or companies that are in no manner affiliated with NT or any if its affiliates. NT or any of its affiliates are not responsible for, do not approve, recommend or endorse any Vendor Content referenced on this website and it’s your sole responsibility to evaluate Vendor Content. Please be aware that any performance information provided by a vendor should be considered hypothetical and must contain the disclosures required by NFA Rule 2-29(c). If you are interested in learning more about, or investigating the quality of, any such Vendor Content you must contact the vendor, provider or seller of such Vendor Content. No person employed by, or associated with, NT or any of its affiliates is authorized to provide any information about any such Vendor Content.