Announcement

Collapse

Looking for a User App or Add-On built by the NinjaTrader community?

Visit NinjaTrader EcoSystem and our free User App Share!

Have a question for the NinjaScript developer community? Open a new thread in our NinjaScript File Sharing Discussion Forum!
See more
See less

Partner 728x90

Collapse

Question for the Community not exactly a support question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question for the Community not exactly a support question

I am not a trained programmer... I just hack away knowing very little about programming till I get something to work, and often learn from other people's code.

Often in John Ehler's various published code written in TradeStation EL, you will see A line like this to prevent division by zero.

From Hilbert Period and indicators that use it as part:

Code:
    If Q1 <> 0 and Q1[1] <> 0 then
                      Do Some division.....
    I don't know what TradeStation EL does when Q1 above is equal to zero, which if allowed to be evaluated would result in division by zero.

It has always been a mystery to me what TradeStation would do in a case when Q1 is equal to zero, because Ehlers never gives code to do something different if the zero test above says we are about to divide by zero. There are never any lines for that situation. What would happen on that bar if Q1 was = 0? In a simple situation maybe nothing gets plotted for that bar,...

but what happens on the next bar with code the references the value [1] (one bar ago?

To make CoronaCycle plot so that it looks like Ehlers TradeStation plot I used:

Code:
    if (denom == 0)  //this step is not in other versions, but if we don't do this test, 
                                       // The plot does not match the photo in Ehler's article
                {                
                    dc.Set(dc[1]);
                }    

if (denom != 0)
                {    
                     dc.Set(.5*num/denom);    
                }