Go Back   NinjaTrader Support Forum > NinjaTrader 7 > Platform Technical Support

Platform Technical Support General platform technical support for NinjaTrader 7.

NinjaTrader
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2015, 09:17 AM   #46
sledge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 4,352
Thanks: 1,635
Thanked 1,058 times in 910 posts
Default

:So they were hiding orders with the new format in oct 2009,and now again are being accused of the same thing going back to the old format?
sledge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 01:57 PM   #47
NinjaTrader_Brandon
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,365
Thanks: 38
Thanked 413 times in 364 posts
Default

Hello,

Some additional information on this.

At this time with NinjaTrader only CQG has confirmed the update to be compliant with the CME's new MDP 3.0 data feed. We expect all market data vendors be updating in the coming months as the absolute cust off is early fall of 2015.

Note that NinjaTrader Platform provides historical data for some data providers who do not offer historical data within NinjaTrader (Example: CQG, Rithmic). This complimentary historical data has been updated to the new MDAPI format which the CME will be requiring all data providers to switch over to.
NinjaTrader_Brandon is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following 2 users say thank you to NinjaTrader_Brandon for this post:
Old 05-07-2015, 09:02 AM   #48
katana
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 17
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 times in 4 posts
Default

So it turns out we apparently CAN have our data broken out again, but NT needs to convince CQG to do it.

Posted by Sierra Chart on BMT.

“We understood the data format is different, but that does not mean that we cannot break out the
individual trades. There was a misunderstanding by management of the details of the protocol and
the fact that our server is transmitting fewer number of trades and we are not breaking out the
individual trades from the messages. This is what we meant when we were not aware of this. We
have done further research and we can break out the individual trades and we will do that.

In summary, the the raw data is not gone. The new CME simple binary encoding data feed does
provide it and is accessible.”
katana is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following user says thank you to katana for this post:
Old 05-07-2015, 09:06 AM   #49
billko1977
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 56
Thanks: 5
Thanked 6 times in 5 posts
Default

This was posted by Sierra Charts? Makes me wonder who to believe. IQFeed which is a tier one data provider says that they have been trying for months to engineer a way to separate the ticks from the CME data feed while still maintaining accurate data and they said they have yet to figure out a way to do it.
billko1977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 04:41 PM   #50
nkhoi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , ,
Posts: 123
Thanks: 2
Thanked 13 times in 6 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by superhans View Post
Hi bhahla, I use tick data just for pure mechanical trading and have been able to duplicate a previous 3000 tick chart with 1036 ticks. What annoys me is not being informed of the changes, I was dicking around all day wondering why my trade set ups were not triggering.
superhans, Can you find out how many ticks to match the old 2000 tick chart?, thanks.
nkhoi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 04:49 PM   #51
sledge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 4,352
Thanks: 1,635
Thanked 1,058 times in 910 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nkhoi View Post
superhans, Can you find out how many ticks to match the old 2000 tick chart?, thanks.
Just go back to pre-oct 2009 settings:

Appears to be a reversal from Oct 2009.

http://www.marketdelta.com/blog/2009...s-enhancement/

http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/f...ad.php?t=21299

sledge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 05:10 PM   #52
nkhoi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: , ,
Posts: 123
Thanks: 2
Thanked 13 times in 6 posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sledge View Post
Just go back to pre-oct 2009 settings:

Appears to be a reversal from Oct 2009.

http://www.marketdelta.com/blog/2009...s-enhancement/

http://www.ninjatrader.com/support/f...ad.php?t=21299

from links you quote the divisor was 2.5 or 2.68, so for 3000 ticks it will be 1200t - 1149t which is not the same as what he got. For 2000 ticks it will be 800t - 746t, the lowest number I tried was 905t but it looks not the same, thanks.
nkhoi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 07:55 AM   #53
stevevogel
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Default approx multiplier for new tick data

the multiplier is slightly different every day but a group I have been working with has used .342 and the charts seem to be very close. I am using Kinerick and it has not changed yet, so we are able to compare my chart to others using cqg. In other words, if you were using a 3000 tick chart in the past, you would use a 1026 tick chart today.
stevevogel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 01:40 PM   #54
ScottB
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 448
Thanks: 0
Thanked 24 times in 24 posts
Default

I am not sure if the link below has been posted or not but the data is still definitely available - as to whether an individual data provider chooses to do the work to break it out or not is a business decision for them, not a technical decision. The link requires understanding at least the basics of the FIX protocol. Look specifically at the trade summary messages and the repeating group under them (those are the individual trades).

Prior to the change, trades were reported from the perspective of the passive liquidity and under the new protocol it is reported from the perspective of the aggressor. It is no more sinister than that.

Beyond all this is the issue of implied orders in symbols that have both an outright book and an implied book. It is a decent amount of work to merge the books but implied or not, that is real liquidity. If you have ever seen trades go off where there were no bids, you have seen implied orders at work.

The CME isn't trying to hide anything, they simply changed the protocol to be more efficient and less likely to bog down during exceptionally fast markets. If someone is using a 2000 tick chart, that is 2000 trades regardless of size, since the average trade size is easily computed, if you still want to do it that way, you can apply a conversion factor or you could switch to volume charts.

http://www.cmegroup.com/confluence/d...mental+Refresh
ScottB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 10:48 AM   #55
NinjaTrader_Brandon
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,365
Thanks: 38
Thanked 413 times in 364 posts
Default

Hello,

Please note that I have received the following information from CQG. This applies to CQG, Continuum, NinjaTrader Continuum, and how we will provide data from our historical data servers going forward.

"CQG implemented a newer version of MDP 3.0 this weekend. This applies to CME, NYMEX, and COMEX. (It is not implemented yet for CBOT.)
The version is MDP 3.0, not fix/fast.
However, we have ‘unbundled’ (given greater precision to filled trade sizes) to the extent possible. Basically this is true for outright fills. The exchange does not provide details for implied fills, so these are still ‘bundled’."
NinjaTrader_Brandon is offline  
Reply With Quote
The following 4 users say thank you to NinjaTrader_Brandon for this post:
Old 06-22-2015, 11:10 AM   #56
ScottB
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 448
Thanks: 0
Thanked 24 times in 24 posts
Default

Brandon,

Thank you for the update and for implementing this functionality.
ScottB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 12:38 AM   #57
superhans
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

So back to the old charts, I'm keeping the recently converted ones just in case there is another sudden change that I don't get any prior notice about, customer really doesn't matter apparently....although I'm sure there has been much hard work attempting to respond to our complaints we had found a work around.
Last edited by superhans; 06-23-2015 at 12:49 AM.
superhans is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 10:06 AM   #58
trader977
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 9
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

1. What does this mean for someone who uses CQG data connection?
2. What is the difference betweeen NinjaTraderContinuum and CQG?
trader977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 10:23 AM   #59
NinjaTrader_Brandon
NinjaTrader Customer Service
 
NinjaTrader_Brandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,365
Thanks: 38
Thanked 413 times in 364 posts
Default

Hello trader977,

Thanks for your reply.

1) This means that the data feed will more closely resemble the data that was previously available with with Fix that users wanted to continue to use.
2) They have the same backend. NinjaTrader Continuum is a NinjaTrader brand.
NinjaTrader_Brandon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 11:14 AM   #60
trader977
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 9
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 time in 1 post
Default

1) You mean when the data was changed in the beginning of May? So in the beginning of May if I reduced the ticks from let's say 1000 to 300 in order to receive similar data back then because the data was bundled, since this Monday I can return to trading with the ticks I originally traded before the change occurred. Is that right?
trader977 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What happened to my SIM account & data? ProV356 Platform Technical Support 3 06-25-2013 01:44 PM
Chart not displaying tick data after historical tick data import Big D Platform Technical Support 17 10-18-2010 03:14 AM
What happened here? cmach123 Platform Technical Support 7 06-02-2009 11:33 AM
Don't know what happened Spectre85 Platform Technical Support 1 03-02-2009 02:02 PM
What happened to my data? Mike_32 Platform Technical Support 10 05-08-2008 07:40 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:26 AM.

Futures, foreign currency and options trading contains substantial risk and is not for every investor. An investor could potentially lose all or more than the initial investment. Risk capital is money that can be lost without jeopardizing ones financial security or lifestyle. Only risk capital should be used for trading and only those with sufficient risk capital should consider trading. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results. View Full Risk Disclosure.

CFTC Rules 4.41 - Hypothetical or Simulated performance results have certain limitations, unlike an actual performance record, simulated results do not represent actual trading. Also, since the trades have not been executed, the results may have under-or-over compensated for the impact, if any, of certain market factors, such as lack of liquidity. Simulated trading programs in general are also subject to the fact that they are designed with the benefit of hindsight. No representation is being made that any account will or is likely to achieve profit or losses similar to those shown.

This website is hosted and operated by NinjaTrader, LLC (“NT”), a software development company which owns and supports all proprietary technology relating to and including the NinjaTrader trading platform. NT is an affiliated company to NinjaTrader Brokerage (“NTB”), which is a NFA registered introducing broker (NFA #0339976) providing brokerage services to traders of futures and foreign exchange products. This website is intended for educational and informational purposes only and should not be viewed as a solicitation or recommendation of any product, service or trading strategy. No offer or solicitation to buy or sell securities, securities derivative or futures products of any kind, or any type of trading or investment advice, recommendation or strategy, is made, given, or in any manner endorsed by any NT affiliate and the information made available on this Web site is not an offer or solicitation of any kind. Specific questions related to a brokerage account should be sent to your broker directly. The content and opinions expressed on this website are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of NT or any of its affiliates. 

Vendors along with their websites, products and services, collectively referred to as (“Vendor Content”), are independent persons or companies that are in no manner affiliated with NT or any if its affiliates. NT or any of its affiliates are not responsible for, do not approve, recommend or endorse any Vendor Content referenced on this website and it’s your sole responsibility to evaluate Vendor Content. Please be aware that any performance information provided by a vendor should be considered hypothetical and must contain the disclosures required by NFA Rule 2-29(c). If you are interested in learning more about, or investigating the quality of, any such Vendor Content you must contact the vendor, provider or seller of such Vendor Content. No person employed by, or associated with, NT or any of its affiliates is authorized to provide any information about any such Vendor Content.